Seek | Discover | Get Blessed

Video Feedback Of Customers about ePuja What customer says about ePuja
ePuja is not the official representative of the temple, this is not the official website of the temple, ePuja has a network of representatives who visit the temple & get the Puja done in your name, our Puja cost includes, temple's official fees, puja samagri items cost, priests dakshina, Prasadam shipping cost across India & abroad and ePuja service charges
Get the prasad delivered from the temple in your name.
Free shipping of prasad globally.

Special Puja on every Sunday for 1 Year

Puja For Navagraha Dosham, Suryanaar Kovil Surya Bhagawan Sun Temple, .
(SKU: TN49/8030)
( All fields are optional )
Add more
Suryanar Kovil (also called Suryanar Temple) is a Hindu temple dedicated to the Hindu deity Sun-God, located in Tamil Nadu. The presiding deity is Suriyanar, the Sun and his consorts Ushadevi and Pratyusha Devi. The temple also has separate shrines for the other eight planetary deities. The temple is considered one of the nine Navagraha temples in Tamil Nadu. The temple is one of the few historic temples dedicated to Sun god and is also the only temple in Tamil Nadu which has shrines for all the planetary deities.
It is stated in one of the inscriptions found in the temple that it was built in the reign of Kulottunga Choladeva (AD 1060-1118) and was called Kulottungachola-Marttandalaya. The current granite shrine is believed to have been built by the Vijayanagara Empire. In modern times, the temple is maintained and administered by the Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments Department of the Government of Tamil Nadu.
The temple has a rectangular plan with compound walls, pierced by a five-tiered raja gopuram (entrance tower). The central shrine is of Suryanarayana, the Sun God, is built on an elevated structure. The central shrine houses the image of Suya and his consorts Usha Devi and Prathyuksha Devi. The hall leading to the central shrine has images of Viswanathar, Visalakshi, Nataraja, Sivakami, Vinayagar and Murugan. On the axial line in front of the central shrine, there is an image of Guru (Jupiter), one of the planetary deities. There are separate shrines for all the other seven planet deities namely Bhutan (Mercury), Shani (Saturn), Sukran (Venus), Soma (Moon), Angaragan (Mercury), Rahu and Ketu. All the other eight shrines of the Navagrahas are arranged facing the shrine of Suryanar
The term Navagraha denotes the nine celestial bodies which are central to astrological calculations (and beliefs) (and not the nine planets as it is frequently erroneously translated). Certain planetary conflagrations give rise to strong negative effects called “Doshas”. The Navagraha Temples Puja eliminates the ill effect of these planetary movements. The duration of this puja is 1 year on every Sunday.
The common worship practices of the devotees include offering of cloth, grains, flowers and jewels specific to the planet deity. Lighting a set of lamps is also commonly followed in the temple.